Skip to content

Canapalooza II: Fruit Edition (but there were some tomatoes too)

September 20, 2010

The event begins: pear buying at the NY Botanical Garden's Farmer's Market

Here is the run down of what we made on Saturday:

  • Apple Butter
  • Apple Sauce
  • Apple Pie Filling
  • Honey-Lemon Apple Jam
  • Savory Apple Preserves
  • Apple Jelly
  • Honey-Ginger Vanilla Pear Jam
  • Cinnamon-Vanilla Pear Jam

A bounty of jars!

Then I attacked the 40 lbs. of tomato seconds that I got through my CSA starting on Sunday.  I will be finishing this up tonight:

  • Savory Tomato Jam
  • Smoky BBQ Tomato Jam
  • Tomato Butter
  • Country Western Ketchup

Details and recipes will be rolling out in the coming days.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate K. permalink
    September 21, 2010 10:52 am

    Let me know how the tomato jams go! I’ve been interested in these…

    • September 21, 2010 10:55 am

      I will be posting recipes for 2 types of tomato jams (more like sweet-spicy BBQ sauce), 2 new types of tomato butter (more like roasted tomato spread), and a recipe that USDA is calling “Country Western Ketchup” which to me is more of a tangy, spicy BBQ sauce. I think all of these tomato products need some rebranding.

      Also, there will have to be a big BBQ-fest to determine the best recipes! I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

