Skip to content

Rhubarb Vodka

June 19, 2010

So two weeks ago, we got rhubarb and a few strawberries in our CSA, and I didn’t feel like making pie/cobbler etc.  What I did feel like was making some infused vodka (a current obsession of mine).  I based my recipe off of this one, but I didn’t use caster sugar (it is finer, but I didn’t have any issues with the turbinado sugar I used dissolving in the vodka over the 2 weeks…).  I also threw in a handful of strawberries because I had them.  After two weeks, the strawberries were like ghost fruit, and I strained everything out.  Note: if you are looking for a crunchy shot of vodka, eat one of those rhubarb pieces!  I didn’t save them, but I can imagine trying to freeze them to be blended into a fancy summer drink…I will keep you posted on that.

The fruit was strained out though the use of a funnel with a screen

With this vodka, I made a cocktail with muddled mint & lemon balm, fresh raspberries, lemonade and seltzer.  I crushed the herbs and raspberries, then added 3 cups of the vodka, 2 cups of lemonade, and about 3 cups of seltzer (hard to estimate that one, I basically just filled up the pitcher).  This was very tasty, but I think I went a little overboard with the chopping of the herbs.  Next time, if I am on top of things, I will make a simple syrup with the berries, herbs and fresh lemon, and strain everything out before mixing it with the vodka.  Mint tastes good, but it does not look good stuck in your teeth…

A tasty pitcher ready to be imbibed!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

