Skip to content

Stuff in the Garden- Swallowtails!

June 11, 2010

First Instar Phase of the Black Swallowtail

About two weeks ago while I was gardening, I was delighted to see a black swallowtail butterfly in the garden.  Knowing that butterflies instantly know when I get my camera and fly away, I was not able to capture an image of proof of urban nature.  However, I did notice about a week later that the butterfly was not just enjoying dill flowers, but was in fact laying eggs.  There were originally two instars (phase when eggs develop and just sit there, allowing themselves to be photographed), but now there is only one.  I will be keeping an eye on this guy, and will hopefully get to see the whole egg to butterfly process take place (just like those butterflies we had in 3rd grade!).  While caterpillars are technically pests, I am willing to give up some dill in order to watch all of this happen.  Stay tuned!

-nette

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

